The Meandering Social Worker

wandering : wondering : learning

Who says?

2012 12 16 - disabled sign in Copec garage toiletsI am so familiar with discussions in the UK over the choice of language and how it impacts on how we see other people, including the wide range of words and phrases that surround the concept of “disability”, that my first reaction when I saw this sign in a Chilean public toilet, was one of shock and repulsion.  To my English mind it sounds like “less valid”, and if I turn to my Spanish-English dictionary that is how it translates.  Google Translate tells me it means “handicapped”.

I’m not sure I want to say anything else about this sign, except that I hope it serves as a reminder as to (a) how much we have moved on in the last 100 years and (b) how much more there is still to achieve.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

